As minors are not permitted to enjoy any alcoholic beverages, they are accordingly not permitted to drive with any detectable amount of alcohol on their breath. If a minor is caught drinking and driving, he or she can be charged with a standard DWI or a special underage DUI. If you or your child has been charged with a DUI, please call a skilled Houston DWI attorney as soon as possible.
If the minor is arrested with any amount of alcohol on his or her breath, but with less than a 0.08% BAC, he or she can be charged with a DUI. This charge can result in a six month license suspension and up to $500 in fines. If he or she is charged with a second DUI, the penalties rise to $2000 in fines and up to six months in jail. These consequences are not to be taken lightly and the only way to fight these accusations is with the help of a top Houston DWI lawyer.
If the minor had a BAC above 0.08%, he or she could be charged with an adult DWI, which carries far more serious penalties. Having a DWI on their criminal record could prevent a child from gaining admittance into a top college or entering a good job position after high school. Fortunately, if your child is convicted of these crimes, he or she can have the crime expunged from their criminal record when he or she turns 18, with the help of a skilled Houston DWI attorney.
If you are a minor who has been charged with a DWI or DUI, or a parent of a child in this position, please call Stradley, Chernoff, & Alford and schedule your free initial consultation with a knowledgeable Houston DWI lawyer.
The Houston, Texas criminal defense law firm of Stradley, Chernoff & Alford, represents people who have been accused of a state or federal crime anywhere in Texas, including in communities such as League City, Angleton, Pearland, Alvin, Clear Lake, Sugar Land, The Woodlands, Baytown, Pasadena, Memorial, Spring Branch, River Oaks, West University, and Bellaire.
Houston County • Galveston County • Fort Bend County • Montgomery County • Brazoria County • Harris County